Evolution of an Owl

Happy Fall, y’all! Owls are flying out the door!

I got a call from Pottery & Garden Alley telling me that two more Velveteen Owls sold and they needed some more. This gave me the perfect opportunity to make some changes to the design.

I enlarged the owls and added bulk to their face in the hope of giving them more personality. I also added more defined legs and some internal wire to help them stand taller. I didn’t add as many “feathers” to their wings. Lee, at the shop, likes the old wings better but they were time consuming to make. We’ll see how these two owls sell and I’ll determine which wings will win out in the end.

The finished product? Drumroll, please…

Introducing Evan Emmanuel Owl and Guinevere Isabella Owl, my first “gal owl.”  (And, in case you’re obsessive compulsive, yes, I skipped the letter “F” because I’m still working on Franchesca Gabriella, a flamboyant red velvet and gold trimmed owl.)

Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com

Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com – Evan Emmanuel Owl

 

Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com

From the Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com – Evan Emmanuel and Guinevere Isabella Owl.

 

Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com

Velvet Owl Collection by gulfcoastquilts.com – Guinevere Isabella Owl

Leave a Reply

